New Tour. New Crew. NEW DRUMS!

There’s something about having a camera around that just changes things. Is it rolling? What should I say? Do we need to talk at all? Is me reading The Dark Tower by Stephen King interesting enough to put on film, or should I look up from the book and make a face? Is this something that I want to have posted on the internet for all pre-robot-apocalyptic eternity? Should I censor myself, or should I be comfortable and confident enough to assume that everyone out there will appreciate my inane sense of humor and aggressive sarcasm? When Jonathan Chanin (aka – Jono, aka –(the) Chandog), one of my best and most-longtime friends, suggested joining us for our spring tour to be our videographer, none of those questions occurred to me. I only thought, “FUCK YEAH!” and brought the idea to the band and our manager and got consistently more excited to finally bring a tangible and important piece of home with me on the road.

Our initial drive from New York to our first show in Bellingham, WA has been filled with four days of adjustment and anticipation. Adjustment to the camera, anticipation of our first web-short post this weekend (coming via Spinner!). Adjustment to 12-hour drive days, anticipation of finally playing a show. Adjustment to a new member of our crew, and anticipation of meeting up with Doris out in Bellingham. And, for me, the nearly intolerable excitement and anticipation of having a spanking new C & C Custom drum kit waiting for me at the Wild Buffalo House of Music in Bellingham that I have yet to adjust to, let alone set eyes on. It’s just sitting there, in a box, in some damp dark music venue manager’s office, waiting to be tuned and summarily thumped.

We’ve never had a tour start like this…the furthest west we’ve had to drive was to Chicago to begin our first-ever tour with Fanfarlo in November of 2009. Right now this just feels like a thinly veiled road trip…an excuse to drive thousands of miles to eat at the glorious Bozeman Montana Community Food Co-op. But tomorrow the veil will be lifted and we’ll be meeting our tourmates, Foals, in one of the northwesternmost American cities, before heading into British Columbia to pick up The Naked and Famous. I sure do hope that they live up to the former part of their name.

~ by Jacob Hyman on April 8, 2011.

5 Responses to “New Tour. New Crew. NEW DRUMS!”

  1. Glad to see you’re blogging again! :) Have a fantastic tour!!

  2. I am so psyched that you’re actually in WA now!!! YOU’RE SO CLOSE TO ME eek! I can’t wait for your guys’ show!! Alright, starting to sound like a creepy fan now so just wanted to wish you guys luck out here, be safe and have fun. :D You are my favorite band ever.

  3. all depressed folks. You’re coming to St. Louis, and just got word the show is sold out. Happy for you, sad for me :-( Love your stuff, glad to see you’ve become the overnight successes you’ve worked so long and hard to be.

    keep all th lovely music comin’

    bob

  4. Are you guys coming to Los Angeles anytime soon?? :)

  5. Hey guys!!! I’m Valentina, I recently just (well like an hour ago) found out about you guys and I am head over heels in L.O.V.E. with your music! To me, the best music is the kind that bites you in the butt and finds you when you least expect it. Anyways, my blog is totally dedicated to you guys! I would love it if you would comment me at any time! Also, I posted on your Facebook and Twitter about producing merchandise, please get back to me on that ASAP! Continue to have an amazing tour!!! :D

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

