West coast, we hardly knew ye.

Today marks the halfway mark of our very first tour, and it has been quite a journey so far. It has been quite a while since I last wrote, and for reasons i don’t know myself, I’ve not got too much to say even now. I think I’ll let some more pictures do the talking for me. We’ve been to Boise, and Seattle. To Portland and down the West coast. We’ve stayed with all of Chuck’s family in San Francisco and L.A., slept at a fan’s house in San Diego, and had Thanksgiving dinner with Caryn in Long Beach. Last night, we played our first (and possibly only) acoustic set of the tour, complete with a cover of Radiohead’s Weird Fishes featuring Cameron from our gracious hosts, Fanfarlo. As you’ll see, this morning Nikki and I got up early today and hit the beach in Santa Barbara before beginning our rainbow-laden-journey back east. Tomorrow brings us to Tucson, AZ and Monday to my parents’ new home in Santa Fe, NM.

And now, a poem from Nikki…er…Doris.

Conch Shells Don’t Lie

by Doris Cellar

I could have waited a day or two
Let the tide take it out to sea
A rat in his maze, a spider in her web.
But I got lost in the fire and let the tide ride my body to shore.
And now I sit in the sand and bask at a distance so far away from home.
A new forecast for my soul.
For every cloud – my mouth moves
For every drop of rain – my lids close
For every wind – my hair grows
And for every breath – a sunset.
And now i ask myself, and you of course.
When there is no one to put their ear to this here conch shell, will it continue to sing the ocean?

~ by Jacob Hyman on November 28, 2009.

7 Responses to “West coast, we hardly knew ye.”

  1. wish there was a video of your Radiohead cover! can’t wait to see you in boston!

  2. Doris. Your Poem is awesome. x

  3. You are more than welcome in Paris. I lend you my apartment if necessary!

  4. Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeease come to play in the UK this year…

    We love you.

    Mike

    @ TheRecommender.net

  5. just posted a bit about you guys on my blog!

    http://www.myipodthumbissore.com/?p=1065

  6. where’s the pot o’ gold!?!?!?! oh wait, yeah, you haven’t released your record yet :-)

  7. Saw you in Tucson and bought your CD. Have listened to you obsessively since. Your concert in Tucson was my birtday present for my 55th birthday and was the best gift I’ve ever recieved. I love your music and crave more… but more than that, can’t wait for you to come back to Tucson or Phoenix… I want to actually meet and talk to you… Namaste’

Leave a Reply

 
