Ragged Wood

In the van driving along the I.5, heading to Eugene, Oregon, where we are thinking about spending our night at a hotel whose concierge, according to Google, serves scotch out of plastic cups, and whose policy does not include the “improper” use of their towels. In other words, customers are forbidden to use their towels to wipe off any makeup. Self explanitory to why they only charge $12 per night.
We are currently a little over a quarter of a way to our next show in Seattle where we will be playing at the Crocodile Cafe.   It’ll be the second time we’ve played there and my third time visiting the city, in total.  I am hoping we will get to walk along the waterfront again,  but wont be too bummed if we don’t, because we’re scheduled to play our first in store performance at Easy Street records, just a few hours before the show. Besides shopping at Pike place market one of the best things, I think, to have come out of Seattle are the Fleet Foxes (I’m sure you’ve all heard of them).

Since I bought their record in January, I’ve noticed I often find myself day dreaming about getting to see them live one of these days, and wonder when and if it’ll ever be possible, seeing that I myself will be on tour for the most part of this good year. However when the time comes, I hope it will be with someone who appriciates their music just as much as I do. Jake would be a good candidate, however he has seen them before, and therefore is not my my first choice (sorry Jake, you can definetly tag along if you’d like).
Earlier at a rest stop, while some of the guys were still wizzing,  I followed Jake in his spontaneous behavior and laid on some of the springiest grass I’ve ever known. Staring ahead at a pristine blue sky, I found myself humming the melody to “Ragged Wood” and when we loaded our bodies back into the van I put my headphones on and quickly exhanged the shins for what I think is one of my favorite albums at the moment. Fast forwarding to the song stuck in my head, I decided that, instead of Googling the lyrics, I would keep myself occupied in this here van, if only for a few minutes, by typing them up stenographer style. When I got to the end of the song, I realized that this was going to be the song I would use to reel my concert buddy in. The lyrics are simple and beautiful  and the melody would definetely stick if they had never heard it before.   So to my friends , family and fans: if you’ve never heard this song before check it out on YouTube or whatnot and read/sing along to what I think Robin Pecknold’s is singing.

As for me, I’m going to pick up from where I left off on this black and red striped scarf I began knitting when we first left N.Y for this tour, aprroximetly 3 weeks and 1 day ago.

“Come down from the mountain you have been gone too long
The spring is upon us follow my only sun
Settle down with me by the fire of my yearning
You should come back home back on your own now
The world is alive now in and outside our home
You run through the forest and settle before the soul
Darlin I can barely remember you beside me oh
You should come back home back on your own now
You should come back home back on your own now
And even in light the woman of the woods came by
To give to you the word of the old man
Morning time where the sparrows and the seagull fly
Jonathan and Evilyn get tired
Lie to me if you will
At the top of Berringer Hill
Tell me anything you want any ol’ lie will do
Call me back to …back to you
Lie to me if you will
At the top of Berringer Hill
Tell me anything you want any old lie will do
Call me back to.. Back to you”

~ by doriscellar on March 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
